Who's for a brew?

It's time for tea

Tried and True – Putney

Tried and True

279 Upper Richmond Road, Putney, SW15 6SP

http://www.triedandtruecafe.co.uk/

Twitter @tried_true_cafe

£- About £8 per person, if you can resist having extra for dessert!

Wifi available

Image

I’ve been here a few times now and I love this place.  It’s bright and roomy, situated at a walking distance to Putney High Street . Ok, enough estate agent speak.  Customers tend to be from the range of Putney life, some stopping in on their way to or from the local leisure centre, some after a weekend bike ride, some young families, some just looking for a peaceful cup of tea. The outside seating area is a great place to enjoy the sunshine in the summer.

photo-7

The Coffee is Square Mile and so, amazing,  quality stuff. The Americano comes with a great ‘head’ that feels luxurious.  They have a range of really nice teas that come in your own pot with milk separately so you can make it just the way you want it.  And believe me, I’m fussy about my tea and coffee.  Along with a selection of teas, they have an ever growing brunch and lunch menu and lists of treats from all kinds of scrummy cakes, muffins and cookies.  I always feel spoilt for choice and end up giving into temptation for that one extra thing.  I took my three year old nephew and they were happy to provide kid sized portions.  The place is definitely kid friendly.   Prices are pretty reasonable for this part of town too.

The staff are really friendly, always happy and they seem to all strike the right balance between having a friendly chat with you and giving you space.  They coped amazingly during the Olympics when there must have been about 60 people in there right after the men’s road cycle race.  Even when they were rushed off their feet, they seemed to be enjoying themselves.

My last two visits, we tried working our way through the menu.

The scrambled eggs and salmon are lovely.  I wish I could make scrambled eggs like that.

Image

The brioche eggy bread was yummy, definitely a treat for Sunday breakfast.

Image

I have no idea what this blueberry muffin tasted like, in the three seconds it took me to turn on the camera, the aforementioned three year old had already demolished half.  And he refused to share, so I’m guessing it was good.

Image

Out in the garden, pancakes and mushroom…something (sorry, I can’t remember what it was).  The pancakes were great, although I might have liked one more.  The mushrooms, I’m told were delicious.

Image

I’m looking forward to my next visit already!

5 Stars

2 comments on “Tried and True – Putney

  1. Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2012 by in cafe reviews, cafes, Reviews and tagged , , , , , .
